Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
consumer product reviews
coffee & espresso grinder reviews
Starbucks Barista Grinder
Where to Buy
Arrow No Business Listed
 List your business site here.
About "Where to Buy"

Product Details
Overall Rating 7.9, Based on 94 Reviews
Avg Price $120.00
Manufacturer Solis
Machine Type Prosumer, conical, burr, grinder, hopper, bin
Colors Black and Silver
Class Grinder, Conical Burr Consumer
Pro Review No
First Look No
QuickShot No

Review Guidelines
Arrow Please write reviews for products you own, and avoid single line responses - details matter.
Arrow Provide comparisons you might have with other products similar to this one you are reviewing.
Arrow Be realistic with your ratings, and remember that others will be using your review to make purchase decisions.
Arrow Please check spelling and avoid controversial language.
Arrow Please review our copyright information and terms of service before posting your review.

Grinders: Starbucks Barista
Previous Product Grinders Next Product

A grinder made by Solis, rebranded by Starbucks. Good for drip, press pot, suitable for espresso.

Write a Review for this Product
Sort Listing: Date Written | A-Z | Rating | Quality
Best First | Worst First 21 - 40 | Prev 20 | Next 20 | See All
Dave Rogers (quality: 7.3) 12.30.2001 Rating: 7.2
Bottom Line: A good--but not great--first burr grinder.
Mark Harris (quality: 5.5) 08.24.2001 Rating: 7.2
Bottom Line: Good to better unit that should be bought on sale and used for only a batch or two.
Chris (quality: 4.7) 06.12.2001 Rating: 7.2
Bottom Line: Older Starbucks Barista not suitable for Rancilio Silvia
Nicholas Trahan 10.25.2007 Rating: 7.4
Bottom Line: I wish I would have gotten something with more features and a finer grind, but the coffee I make is great so it can't be all that bad, right?
Owen Evans (quality: 4.8) 11.12.2004 Rating: 7.4
Bottom Line: Solis makes a great product for Starbucks and I am chuffed!
Terry L (quality: 6.0) 03.03.2007 Rating: 7.4
Bottom Line: reasonable grind -reasonable price- good bang for the buck
Andy Ciordia (quality: 8.0) 10.23.2004 Rating: 7.4
Bottom Line: Simple, Clean, easy loading, effective.  Not the best of the best, but for the dollar it can't be beat.
Tom Murray (quality: 7.0) 02.22.2002 Rating: 7.6
Bottom Line: Do NOT buy a blade grinder! This is an affordable,good entry-level burr grinder.
Peter Mork (quality: 5.5) 11.15.2003 Rating: 7.6
Bottom Line: A good grinder that does it's chores without problems
Peter McDermott (quality: 8.0) 05.18.2004 Rating: 7.6
Bottom Line: If you life in the UK and can't afford a Gaggia MDF (the next grinder up), this is your only option for espresso.
Peter Russell (quality: 7.3) 12.11.2004 Rating: 7.6
Bottom Line: half the price of the rancilio rocky, and probably 65% as good as one.  that makes it a value.  just be ready to work with it.
Patrick Naughton-Doe (quality: 3.0) 03.17.2009 Rating: 7.8
Bottom Line: It works really well, excellent value for money.
Jeremy Maclennan (quality: 8.0) 07.08.2004 Rating: 7.8
Bottom Line: A real coffee grinder, for a decent price.
Rob McHattie (quality: 6.5) 12.30.2003 Rating: 7.8
Bottom Line: A quiet, reasonably priced machine that seems capable.
Oliver L (quality: 6.0) 10.13.2008 Rating: 7.8
Bottom Line: I'm very happy with this machine and with the espresso I get routinely from the grounds it producess in my Gaggia semi-auto.
Mike Silvey (quality: 6.5) 02.20.2002 Rating: 8.0
Bottom Line: All the grinder you really need.
Susie L (Roxie's mom) (quality: 5.0) 04.17.2004 Rating: 8.0
Bottom Line: I highly recommend this grinder and would buy it again.
Mark (quality: 4.5) 04.01.2001 Rating: 8.0
Bottom Line: Good product. Not perfect, but pretty good for the price
John Eubanks (quality: 8.6) 04.27.2002 Rating: 8.0
Bottom Line: I am pleased overall with the Barista, but now my appetite is whetted for a better grinder like the Rocky or Mazzer!
Wes Simonds (quality: 4.0) 07.06.2001 Rating: 8.0
Bottom Line: Solis 177/Mulino: Excellent grinder, *not* to be confused with Starbucks unit
Sort Listing: Date Written | A-Z | Rating | Ranking
Best First | Worst First 21 - 40 | Prev 20 | Next 20 | See All
Interactive
Search
Login Password
forgot pw | signup
quickNav
advertisement
sponsorad
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com
sponsorad
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com
advertisement
Home | Opinions | Consumer Reviews | Guides & How Tos | CoffeeGeek Reviews | Resources | Forums | Contact Us
CoffeeGeek.com, CoffeeGeek, and Coffee Geek, along with all associated content & images are copyright ©2000-2014 by Mark Prince, all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated. Content, code, and images may not be reused without permission. Usage of this website signifies agreement with our Terms and Conditions. (0.202282905579)
Privacy Policy | Copyright Info | Terms and Conditions | CoffeeGeek Advertisers | RSS | Find us on Google+