Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
consumer product reviews
filter drip coffee maker reviews
Technivorm Moccamaster - Niko Okamoto's Review
Posted: April 23, 2014, 1:42pm
review rating: 0.0
feedback: (0) comments | read | write
Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Makers
Where to Buy
Arrow 1st in Coffee
Arrow Seattle Coffee Gear
Arrow iDrinkCoffee.com
 List your business site here.
About "Where to Buy"

More About This Product
Arrow The Technivorm Moccamaster has 34 Reviews
Arrow The Technivorm Moccamaster has been rated 8.64 overall by our member reviewers
Arrow This product has been in our review database since October 24, 2007.
Arrow Technivorm Moccamaster reviews have been viewed 244,759 times (updated hourly).

Quality Reviews
These are some of the best-written reviews for this product, as judged by our members.
Name Ranking
Eddie Dove 9.19
Tim Markwood 9.00
James McNab 8.60
Rick Waits 8.38
Brett Maraldo 8.00

Previous Review Next Review
Ratings and Stats Overall Rating: 6.8
Product Reviewed: Moccamaster CD
Manufacturer: Technivorm Quality: 5
Average Price: Varies Usability: 9
Price Paid: $190.00 Cost vs. Value 5
Where Bought: Boyds Coffee Aesthetics 8
Owned for: 4+ years Overall 7
Writer's Expertise: I love coffee Would Buy Again: No
Similar Items Owned:
Bottom Line: Makes outstanding coffee but build quality is extremely disappointing for such an upscale brewer
Positive Product Points

- It's easy to clean. It's also easy to see when it needs descaling.
- The coffee is so good, in our house a freshly brewed pot doesn't hang around long enough to sit and bake so no need for the thermal carafe version.
- It's cool looking, except for the plastic which is slightly yellow-tinted and looks old.
- Non-digital simplicity. The Moccamaster brews so fast, you don't really need to set it up for automatic brewing but you could probably use an appliance timer if you needed to.

Negative Product Points

- Electrical components burn out (rocker switch, wiring, contacts)
- Water reservoir with the lid kept on gets slimy
- Plastic parts on carafe and filter basket prone to breakage
- Hard to clean around burner plate; coffee can spill through the base, dripping all over the unprotected wiring

Detailed Commentary

This is a compilation of posts I made on the CoffeeGeek bulletin board.
------------------------------------------------------
Posted Sat Oct 8, 2005, 11:40pm
Yesterday was a black Friday for us. Out of the blue, the rocker switch on our Moccamaster CD decided to stay frozen in the On position. Fortunately, we had already enjoyed the pot of coffee. The machine is only about 1.5 years old (from Boyd's). Based on reviews about TV coffee makers and their longevity, I'm treating this as an anomaly. I emailed Boyd's,  got a reply the next day that a new switch assembly was needed. So, I ordered it and, to make the shipping cost worthwhile, also ordered the 9-hole pipe ($12). Hopefully the parts will arrive early next week, and we'll see if a new switch fixes the problem.

Now let me just say that I LOVE this coffee maker, even using the single hole pipe all this time. When I remembered, I would use the carafe-holding or ground-stirring method with this coffee maker. The coffee it makes just blows away all the other drip machines I've had (Mr. Coffee, Black & Decker, Proctor Silex, Braun, Krups). It's like having the best coffeehouse/restaurant cup of coffee you've ever had, every day at home.

When making less than 10 cups, I just add a little more coffee to compensate. Or make a whole pot and have some left over for iced coffee later.
As with any coffee maker, starting with premium, freshly ground coffee is ideal. But I'm convinced the Moccamaster will brew the best your coffee has to offer, even if it's not very good (like Costco $4/lb coffee). We normally buy a couple local brands, Kalani Organic French Roast, or Tully's Madison Blend. - When grinding beans at the market, I found that using the finest drip setting works best, as it slows down the brewing process a bit and allows the grounds to become more saturated. However, using too fine a setting can overflow the filter basket.

I'll post another note if it turns out there's more wrong than just the switch. In the meantime, we're doing espresso (sigh).

------------------------------------------------------
Posted Wed May 12, 2010, 7:57pm

Still have the same MoccaMaster CD, now going on 6 years. Here's what we've had to replace:

ROCKER SWITCH, 2X (wiring insulation has degraded and melted/cracked off, so I've wrapped the wires as best as possible with electrical tape)
CARAFE, 1X (the glass didn't break, it was one "ear" of the carafe handle that finally broke off from repeated removal of the lid for cleaning -- had to order a whole new carafe)
FILTER BASKET LID, 1X (inexplicable problem, not sure why it developed a crack and broke around the slot)

Other notes:
The heating plate has popped off from pulling, but it's easy to clean up and bolt back on.
The water reservoir gets nasty if you leave the cover on. There's enough moisture and heat after brewing to create a nice little jungle in there.
I'm disappointed in the plastic parts breaking. With good parts design and polycarbonate, this should not be happening for the amount of use we give.
Replacing parts through Boyd's is expensive, e.g., a new fiilter basket lid is $5.95 but the shipping is $9.95.

Still makes awesome coffee, though, and that's what it's all about!

------------------------------------------------------
Posted Sat Apr 9, 2011, 10:12am

About a month after I ordered a new filter basket lid, my MoccaMaster CD quit working. This time the rocker switch - the usual culprit - was fine. I rewrapped the wires, even put on a new connector but no joy.

Now, the only reason I'm posting another reply is because I found out Boyd's now has a great program for out-of-warranty TV brewers. For around $45, you can swap your kaput TV brewer with a nicely refurbished one. I could've even chosen a different model(!!), but I still think the MMCD is the best looking of the lot so ended up ordering it again. Just call or email Boyd's and they'll set it up. You pack up and send your brewer with all parts back to Boyd's - which irked me since I'd just spent $16 on the new basket lid. I did, however, still have the broken-handled carafe and original single-hole spout, so I sent those. FYI: keep your original box and any junky parts in case you need to do this swap in the future.

It's still under the new warranty, but all's been well for the last 10 months.

------------------------------------------------------
Posted Sun Dec 9, 2012, 8:54pm

Today the refurbished MoccaMaster CD that Boyd's sent to me stopped heating the water halfway through a brew cycle. The rocker switch light was still on, so I knew the machine hadn't tripped the breaker as in previous times.

I cleaned it up, let it sit... and nothing. Back to Boyd's it goes, although this time I think I'll spring for a different model. I don't even see this model listed anymore on the Boyd's site. What's up with that?

Like my previous one, it made wonderful coffee. However, for what this coffeemaker costs, I feel it should last much longer and the problems I've had doesn't speak well for its build quality.

------------------------------------------------------
April 23, 2014 - Retrospect

In addition to the original machine and the electrical problems encountered, we burned through two refurbished CD machines. The second one is still sitting in a box, waiting for me to send back to Boyds. We took the bottom panel off to have a look at the guts and there was rust and other burned out looking components that could not have occurred over the shot year's time we had it. I bought a Bunn Phase Brew HT and am mostly happy with it, though the quality of the coffee is not as good as the Technivorm's. Someday when I get around to sending it back, I'll probably try a different model. Either it was in particular the CD model, or just the state of the factory at the time, but all of them had electrical issues. Hopefully Technivorm has put better QC practices in place since then.

Buying Experience

No problem with Boyd's. A little bit of a hassle to return - you have to call for an RMA - but otherwise OK. Shipping up to Seattle was fast, as to be expected.

Previous Review Next Review
Write a Review for this Product
review rating: 0.0
Posted: April 23, 2014, 1:42pm
feedback: (0) comments | read | write
Interactive
Search
Login Password
forgot pw | signup
quickNav
advertisement
sponsorad
Donate to Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids works with farming communities around the world, improving lives. Donate today.
www.coffeekids.org
sponsorad
Coffee Kids
Help folks who help folks in coffee producing nations.
coffeekids.org
advertisement
Home | Opinions | Consumer Reviews | Guides & How Tos | CoffeeGeek Reviews | Resources | Forums | Contact Us
CoffeeGeek.com, CoffeeGeek, and Coffee Geek, along with all associated content & images are copyright ©2000-2014 by Mark Prince, all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated. Content, code, and images may not be reused without permission. Usage of this website signifies agreement with our Terms and Conditions. (0.195869922638)
Privacy Policy | Copyright Info | Terms and Conditions | CoffeeGeek Advertisers | RSS | Find us on Google+