Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Just got a grinder, disappointing results
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Just got a...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
coffeefreak2112

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Mon Jul 8, 2013, 2:09pm
Subject: Just got a grinder, disappointing results

So I have been using a budget espresso machine for about 6 months (Delonghi EC155), along with an alloy tamper, and a frothing thermometer.  The EC155 is a single boiler machine from what I understand.  Up until now, I have been using Lavazza pre-ground for espresso coffee in the Ec155. I tamp at around 30 lbs and usually get pretty decent crema and have been generally happy with the quality of what I am pulling.  

But everything I read said that I really should invest in a grinder, so I got a Capresso 560.  Since then, I haven't gotten one decent shot from the beans I have ground.  I have experimented with the various grinding coarseness settings and a bag of unknown quality beans and my espresso now is horrible.   I can't for the life of me get a shot with decent crema anymore.  At first I used the capresso suggested setting of medium which is supposed to be for single boiler machines, and it came out fairly fine- at least compared to what I am used to with pre-ground.