Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Brew Pressure Issues
Donate to Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids works with farming communities around the world, improving lives. Donate today.
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Brew Pressure...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
Billyj66

Expertise: I live coffee

Posted Thu May 30, 2013, 9:59am
Subject: Brew Pressure Issues

Hi all;

I'm kind of new to this and self taught espresso enthusiast.  I use an Expobar Brewtus IV vibe (year and a half) and a new Baratza Vario, my coffee is always black cat 7 - 25 days from roast.  the last several months I have had trouble consistently getting a good coffee and I'm hoping some of the experts can get me pointed in the right direction.  here are some of the variables to consider.
I'm quite sure its my lack of skills and not an equipent issue but the pressure gauge properly idles at or near 10 but when i try to pull a shot the gauge plunges to one - which i think is normal in the first few seconds - and then about 8-10 seconds later the pressure starts to build.  so far sounds normal i think.  but then the gauge goes up to 10 then sounds like it choking and drops and climbs and drops.  So, i thought maybe my grind was too fine but with a minor adjustment on the micro side of my grinder.  the gauge would only go up to 4-6.

i had considered that i was just grinding way to fine and thats the issue.  could it be? why would a minor adjustment not build nearly enough pressure then?