Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Pressure Bars: What is the minimum acceptable level to get thick CREMA?
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Pressure Bars:...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 3 last page next page
Author Messages
cremagourmand

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Mon Jan 21, 2013, 11:49am
Subject: Pressure Bars: What is the minimum acceptable level to get thick CREMA?

I have been buying espresso at cafes for almost 30 years and have never owned an espresso machine. Never thought I could afford a good one, so I didn't want to suffer the disappointment of throwing a lot of my money away on a machine that would be disappointing. As my member name here would imply I am a crema freak. I still don't think I can afford a machine that will make me happy, but I am now working somewhere that has tasked me with getting the office a machine. Yippee!

So the question is this, What are the most important considerations when purchasing a machine in order to get that thick frothy stuff I so love about espresso?

Is the secret in the pressure bars, or is it something else? I know fresh beans, freshly ground enter into it. But what about the machine should I pay more for in order to get what I desire.

Thanks in advance I am new to the forum and am looking forward to your help.

Dan
 View Profile Link to this post
emradguy
emradguy
Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Duetto II; Twist v2
Grinder: M Major, Macap M4 x2, VDD...
Drip: Espro presses; Aeropress
Roaster: H-B "List of Favorites"