Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
New Silvia owner- questions
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > New Silvia...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
CR

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2012, 4:15pm
Subject: New Silvia owner- questions

Hi, I just purchased a used Rancilio Silvia machine with PID along with a Nuova Simonelli grinder. I am completely new to the home espresso art so I have a few questions. I hope they haven't been asked too many and hope you'll bear with me until I get a bit better idea of the process and nuances.

So.. what is the preferred method of making a latte. Should you steam first then pull the shot or vice-versa. The PID seems to be pre-set to 218F which I assume is the brew temp. Is that a good setting to start with while becoming familiar with the machine? If I pull a shot first then I assume I would then switch to steam and let the temp rise to steaming temperature? When I do this the temperature tops out at to 300F (according to the PID) before the machine switches off and the temp drops - does that seem right?

I was also wondering - when you are pulling a shot - at what point is the shot complete. Is it the quantity? the time? and when the shot is complete do you turn off the brew switch to end it?

I know I'll have lots more questions but would appreciate any advice/knowledge at this stage.

thanks all!
 View Profile Link to this post
dyqik

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Bezzera BZ07 PM
Grinder: Baratza Virtuoso Preciso...
Vac Pot: Cona D
Drip: Bona-Vita, CCD, Aeropress.