Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Advice For A Newbie?
Find the Right Machine...
Package deals on the best machines from Izzo, Quick Mill, Rocket, La Marzocco & more.
www.clivecoffee.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Advice For A...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
phil2415

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Delonghi All-in-one thingy
Grinder: Braun
Posted Thu Jul 1, 2004, 4:03am
Subject: Advice For A Newbie?

I'm a complete novice when it comes to coffee really, but I know that I love the stuff when I go to the likes of Starbucks etc, so I'm trying to get into it.  I have a coffee machine which does filter coffee and espresso, and it's the espresso side that's frustrating me.  I made sure it had a decent pump when I got it (I think it's 15bar) but no matter what I do, the shots come out so bitter that it's undrinkable.  I'm learning bit by bit and I certainly was using coffee that wasn't ground finely enough until recently, but I got the guy at Whittards to grind it to espresso grade for me before rushing out to buy a good grinder, and still the espresso is bad.  Having read stuff on this forum I've worked on improving the temperature and by telling the machine to heat the water for steam instead of espresso I've got hotter water.  I also used a little less coffee yesterday and actually got a half-decent espresso, but still not great.  What am I doing wrong?