Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
Extraction difficulties... wit's end
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > Extraction...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
AnaNahal

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Thu Aug 2, 2012, 9:59am
Subject: Extraction difficulties... wit's end

Hi Coffeegeeks,

I hate asking for help, but I've hit an impasse and can't get past it.  I'm not a pro barista but I did take Intelligentsia's barista course & have watched a ton of videos etc. Dying to get it right.

I've started using a bottomless portafilter & am still having problems with my espresso extraction.  At first the extraction was spurting all over the place, so I experimented with grind settings & purchased a better portafilter (VST 20 mg ridged).  At this point, I am using WDT (Weiss Distribution Technique) as well as Nutation to improve things, and it has greatly improved, but at the beginning it is still uneven and messy.  Only as the shot continues does the flow of espresso unite into a single center stream.

Here is the equipment I'm using:

Grinder: Baratza Virtuoso set somewhere between 3-5 clicks from the finest grind (could the grinder be the problem?)
Rocket Espresso Premium Plus Giotto machine
VST 20 mg bottomless portafilter along with perfectly matched tamper

The coffee beans are all from Intelligentsia & Blue Bottle and are always fresh, and I clean my equipment daily & weekly.  I think that's all the needed info?

Any advice greatly appreciated.  Today's latte tasted pretty bad :(
 View Profile Link to this post
CMIN