Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Questions and Answers
less crema - yummy espresso
LavAzza Espresso Machines
Awesome capsule espresso machines. Perfect for home, office and restaurant applications.
www.espressozone.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Q and A > less crema -...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
AndyPanda
AndyPanda
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Olympia Cremina, Various...
Grinder: Mazzer Major, Fiorenzato,...
Vac Pot: vintage Corey
Drip: AeroPress
Roaster: BreadMachine/HeatGun
Posted Sun Sep 19, 2010, 6:31pm
Subject: less crema - yummy espresso

So ... I'm fairly new to espresso.  I mean I haven't ever had espresso in Europe or at a third wave cafe (whatever that even is?) - never even really knew what espresso was before 5-6 months ago.  Now I've been totally obsessed and have been working my way up through machines and grinders and learning how to pull a proper shot - and buying fresh roasted coffee as well as learning to roast my own.  And I've been making some great tasting/looking shots - even though I have nothing to compare them to (other than starbucks and I feel like I passed them ages ago).

So ... two things that have been puzzling me.  I usually only roast enough for 3-4 days - but I roasted way too much last month and had some leftover beans from each roasting session that I saved (dated on the bags).  The last few days I've been going back and trying these older beans And to my surprise, the beans that are 2, 3 and even 4 weeks post roast are tasting really good to me.  They have great looking crema as they are being pulled but it quickly thins out to 2-3 mm - still lovely and mottled, just not a lot of it.