Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Recommendations?
Coffee Kids
Help folks who help folks in coffee producing nations.
coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Recommendations?  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
tsiu6

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun Apr 6, 2014, 10:35am
Subject: Recommendations?

Hello!!  

I am a new member!  I suppose a brief intro- My name is Trevor, I am a college student here in Atlanta.  I have loved coffee for sometime now, but recently acquired a Gaggia Synchros Digital Espresso machine from goodwill.  I came home, it had the ventilate message, so I took it apart, took off the intake tube from the water reservoir, and used a turkey baster to manually prime the pump.  Took about two hours and a leaky turkey baster (it needed a lot of pressure), but it works!!  Cleaned all the filters in the brew unit, and have done a through cleaning on the machine.  So that brings me to the end of my introduction and beginning of my questions.  

1.  As it is an "older" Machine (1767 cups made by the counter on the computer), I would like to descale it (also because I don't know when it was last serviced...it was at goodwill after all).  I was thinking about the Durgol swiss espresso decalcifier, thoughts?  I am used to brewing chemex, french press, vacuum press stuff- first toe dip into the wonderful world of espresso!  

2.  Beans.  Any recommendations on some good starter espresso beans?  I am just using a few roasts I have at home in the grinder, but they are by no means espresso beans.  Where should I start?  

3.  Any tips?  I am completely new to this, so any tips to pass on to an eager, caffeinated beginner?  :)