Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Former pro barista, newbie to home espresso...ready to invest in a real machine
Gourmet Organic Coffee
Temblor is a smooth high-grown Guatemalan coffee that presents notes of spice and chocolate.
thelostgringo.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Former pro...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
lcbaker

Expertise: Pro Barista

Posted Sun Oct 13, 2013, 1:33pm
Subject: Former pro barista, newbie to home espresso...ready to invest in a real machine

Hi! I'm brand new to the forum and new to seriously considering buying a home espresso machine. I worked as a barista for years, so I know how to pull a shot and steam foam (pretty darn good at both, or at least I was, but it's been a while!), but I know next to nothing about choosing or maintaining a machine. At the shop of course I backflushed and cleaned daily, but I never descaled. I did adjust the grind every day, since I was a shift manager. So I've got experience and basic maintenance knowledge, but no in-depth knowledge about machines or features. I've been researching all day and I'm getting kind of overwhelmed!