Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Deciding on an espresso machine
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Deciding on an...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
gobolts

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Mon Sep 23, 2013, 5:21pm
Subject: Deciding on an espresso machine

Hi everyone,

I've been reading for a while now and am still unsure what I want to do. I am not new to coffee at all, I've been roasting my own coffee for about 12 or 13 years, and normally I use a French press. I don't like filter coffee much, it seems bland. (I do drink it when out though but with no expectation of good coffee. I do NOT like Starbucks.) Espresso is something I never paid any attention to, although I enjoy cappuccinos quite a bit. In fact, I bought a Lavazza Blue machine earlier this year just for that reason (milk drinks), and we (myself, family, friends) have been enjoying it. However, it has unfortunately given me the itch to try proper espresso now as I'm developing a taste for it and I'm stuck with a capsule machine so I can't use my own roasted coffee.

1)  What kind of drinks do you like/want to make?  Probably a lot of cappuccinos and lattes, and some regular espresso.
2)  How many drinks, on average, do you see yourself needing to make at any one time? One to four. On average probably one or two at a time.
3)  How many drinks, on average, do you see yourself making in any given week?  (This will tell us what you need in terms of a machine's durability.) Probably around 30 average.