Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Normal amount of water drip
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Normal amount of...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
cale42

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Tue Sep 24, 2013, 6:41am
Subject: Normal amount of water drip

Hi,

First time to the forum!  I'm looking for some feedback on how much water in a drip tray is normal in a superautomatic machine.  I'm pretty new to nice coffee machines, but fairly mechanically inclined.  So when my little Delonghi EC155 died I decided to gamble and buy a used superautomatic online, take it completely apart and refurb it.   Several mail orders later I have it up and running and making quite delicious coffee.  

That being said, most of what I had to replace(o-rings and drainage valve) were related to water leaking out the bottom all the tie.  With all new parts, I am getting small amount of water that seems to be coming from under the drainage valve after each brew.  I would estimate it to be in the vicinity of an oz.  I would imagine I would have to empty the drip tray less than once a week for water buildup.. though living in Colorado I suspect it might evaporate first!

So my question is, is this normal?  This is an old Capresso C2000 machine by the way.  It is the first time I've ever used a superautomatic so I have no idea of some drippage is normal or it should be completely dry and there is an o-ring I missed along the way.

Thanks,
chris
 View Profile Link to this post
cale42

Posted Tue Sep 24, 2013, 6:53am