Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Diagnosing my pump problem (or, what have I done!?) (w/ video)
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Diagnosing my...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
murphem

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun Aug 25, 2013, 6:45pm
Subject: Diagnosing my pump problem (or, what have I done!?) (w/ video)

Howdy all,

I'm relatively new to the espresso game and, after a few weeks with my first used single-boiler machine working fine, I've encountered a problem that is baffling me. The problem first started while trying to find the right grind on some aging beans. Since I only have a stepped Hario Skerton (Preciso on the way!), I was stuck with one setting which would pull a 15 second shot and, as I found out, a finer setting that would all but completely choke the machine. After choking the machine once, I went to pull a shot later in the evening and found that I wasn't getting any water at all from the shower head. I first took of the screen and then also tried to bleed any extra pressure out of the machine through the steam wand, both to no avail. A couple days later with no use, my next thought was that perhaps I should descale. Unfortunately, as I began to try to descale my machine, the steam wand started with only letting out sporadic spurts of steam and water and then eventually just stopped letting out water or steam at all. Throughout all of this, as far as I could tell the pump was working normally (based on the sound and watching the intake tube).