Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
old Coffee Gaggia portafilter question
Commercial Equipment
Nuova Simonelli, La Marzocco, Rancilio. Nationwide installation. Instant financing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > old Coffee...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
shep236

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Sun Aug 18, 2013, 1:41pm
Subject: old Coffee Gaggia portafilter question

I was recently given an old Coffee Gaggia. I gave it a good cleaning and descaling, and replaced the head gasket. I am new to this machine, and so what follows is a puzzlement to me.

When I twist on an empty pf without basket, the pf gets tight when the handle is pointing directly at me in front of the machine.

When I do the same with an empty basket in the pf, the pf will not turn this far, but stops (from my pov) a little left of center.

Now I fill the basket and tamp. Coffee level is well below top of basket. The rim is clean. I insert the basket in the pf. Sometimes, I can't even get the pf to engage in its groove and turn. When I can get it to turn, it requires a lot of force and the handle winds up pointing well to my left.

After the shot, I remove pf, inspect puck. It seems tight and unmarred tho a little soupy (this model does not have the 3-way solenoid valve, so that's not unusual)

My question is: What is preventing the pf from turning as far as I believe it should? Why these differences in turnability for empty pf, pf+empty basket, and pf+ filled basket?

Any light shed on this puzzle will be much appreciated.
 View Profile Link to this post
D4F

Expertise: I like coffee

Espresso: Gaggia Classic PID
Grinder: Baratza Forte-AP