Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Rancilio silva or Bezzera BZ10 Machine
Don't suffer bad espresso
Package deals on the best machines from Izzo, Quick Mill, VBM, La Marzocco & more.
www.clivecoffee.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Rancilio silva...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
osteenjames

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Tue Aug 6, 2013, 7:26pm
Subject: Rancilio silva or Bezzera BZ10 Machine

Forgive me I am new to making espresso. I recently bought a Breville 800ESXL machine for a steal. I'm looking for cafe-shop quality shots of espresso. My budget is 1000.00 to 1600.00.
I was looking at Bezzera BZ10, and the BZ02 and Rancilio Silva machine. Which is best for the money, and quality of shot?

Respectfully
  1. A. O'Steen, Ret, USN
 View Profile Link to this post
Burner0000

Expertise: Professional

Espresso: Rancilio Silvia, VFA Expres...
Grinder: Macap MX/VFA N1464/Kyocera...
Drip: Manual Drip, French Press
Roaster: Behmor 1600 / Sonofresco
Posted Wed Aug 7, 2013, 5:12am
Subject: Re: Rancilio silva or Bezzera BZ10 Machine

I only have experience with the Silvia and IMO it does produce cafe quality espresso.  What it lacks though compared to Bezzera is boiler size.  The Bezzera's are commercial machines.  The Silvia is more home use.  I would go with Bezzera over the Silvia if your budget allows it.  The extra boiler size will help you maintain boiler temp while you pull a shot as well as give you double the steam pressure over the Silvia.  Auto refill is another + over the Silvia. 1st Line has a good deal on the BZ02.
 View Profile Contact via MSN Messenger Link to this post
calblacksmith
calblacksmith
Expertise: I live coffee