Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Should I buy a non-pressurized basket for this machine?
Rocket R58 Double Boiler
Rocket Espresso R58 Double Boiler -  Everything you need for the perfect shot!
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Should I buy a...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
mickey1

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun May 26, 2013, 1:35pm
Subject: Should I buy a non-pressurized basket for this machine?

Hi,

I'm brand new to making my own espresso though I have drunk gallons of cuban coffee (espresso). I live in an area with a lot of Cubans hence a lot of Cuban restaurants. I love the people and I love their coffee too.

I bought a Mr. Coffee ECMP50 not long ago. I load it up with Bustelo and I like what I'm getting out of it so far.

I did some reading on it before I bought it and most people swore by it but the machine got "knocked" by conisseurs because it has a pressurized basket and they say the crema produced by it is not really crema at all, just some foam produced by by forcing the coffee through the basket's single tiny exit pinhole.

So my question is, should I buy the non-pressurized basket made by Krups (model #0907163) that fits this machine?

Will the use of this basket give me a different, hopefully better, taste? I'm satisfied with what a get out of the machine now but if I can get better out of it, I of course want to.

Also, will it produce any crema? The machine is advertised as having a 15lb pump. Whether it is 15lb or not, I don't know.