Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Planning for my next machine, advice on some machines
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Planning for my...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 3 last page next page
Author Messages
silvers

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Tue Mar 19, 2013, 11:23am
Subject: Planning for my next machine, advice on some machines

Hello all

Okay so I am fairly new to the world of coffee but am slowly becoming obsessed.  For many years I use to just get by with the local coffee shops in Toronto then I moved away and decided I should get my own machine.  I first bought a used (heavily used) Rancilio Silvia which I quickly updated due to a lot of break downs, I then found a great deal on a Quick Mill Elaine (which is very similar to an Alexia).  I love the Elaine it makes some amazing espresso shots.  

So the reason for the post is I am interested in upgrading, reasons being: the Elaine is a single boiler machine and takes a long time to to make multiple types of drinks.  Pulling a shot just for myself is great but on weekends we generally have a lot of people over and making multiple latte's and americano's can be taxing.  Also the Elaine is not the greatest at steaming milk.  

Before I get into the machines I have been looking into I will answer the suggested questions from the "read before you post topic"

"Standard Questions:
1)  What kind of drinks do you like/want to make?  -espresso, latte, cappuccino, americano