Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Help with my new Bezzera BZ07 - total newbie
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Help with my new...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
jeffu

Expertise: Beginner

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2013, 6:52am
Subject: Help with my new Bezzera BZ07 - total newbie

Hi gang - so I pulled the trigger and upgraded from a Gaggia Classic to a brand new Bezzera BZ07 - just arrived yesterday.  I'm a bit lost and need some help.

I have a Rancillio Rocky grinder and it was set at about 14 for grind, tried a pull this morning and there was zero crema - same setting on the Gaggia produced a ton.   Just wondering what setting any other BZ owners may be using?

Also - the owners manual is really really basic - so I just don't know if I'm doing things right.

Backflushing - how do I do it?  
My machine has a PID - so I assume I set it to the temp I want for the shot and let it get to that level and pull, right?  I hear a lot of discussion about "flushing" to cool it down or between shots, can anyone explain that a bit clearer?

Sorry - I've search threads and it's all a bit confusing and sooo time consuming and I'm just not finding what I need.

I will say I'm blown away by the steam!  OMG - nothing like the Gaggia.

Thanks in advance!
 View Profile Visit website Link to this post
dyqik

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Bezzera BZ07 PM
Grinder: Baratza Virtuoso Preciso...
Vac Pot: Cona D
Drip: Bona-Vita, CCD, Aeropress.
Roaster: Gene Cafe, Modded Poppers
Posted Fri Mar 15, 2013, 8:01am