Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
The classic question
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > The classic...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
email2r2
email2r2
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Quick Mill QM67
Grinder: Baratza Vario
Posted Sun Mar 10, 2013, 2:46pm
Subject: The classic question

My first espresso set-up has been suggested by members right on this site. As an entry  combo, I bought a Rancilio Silvia and a Baratza Vario. Since I'm a technician in real life, I mod the Silvia with a Auber PID (the preinfusion type), glycerin filled pressure gauge, cooling fan for the PID and relays to be able to run the machine manually without the interference of the PID. THe mods have been made like if it was build by Rancilio and I always got good comment with my work.

Anyway, at first I was the only one hooked on espresso in the family and they didn't understand why I was spending so much money just for coffee. With time, everyone was asking me to make them espresso, so the Silvia can't put up with the pace anymore.
I 'm now in the process of selling my Silvia to buy something more powerfull. The Rancilio is built like a tank and I have only good comments to give and that's the kind of qualities I would like to have with my new machine.