Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
time to update
Home Espresso Machines
Watch videos with Gail & Kat, Rocket, Jura Capresso, Saeco, Rancilio, Quick Mill, Nespresso
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > time to update  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Jbortz

Expertise: Just starting

Espresso: saeco vienna deluxe
Posted Sat Jan 26, 2013, 2:48pm
Subject: time to update

Hello. I am new to coffee geek and am looking for help info on the next step up the espresso ladder

I love espresso. I have owned a Saeco vienna deluxe machine for about eight years and never really made an espresso near as delicious as those from a coffee bar. I assume its my own lack of skill/knowledge.
Never really been able to correctly forth the milk as this machine has a steam wand with a plastic panarello which is supposed to direct the steam in a multidirectional fashion but doesn't really. I always get mostly froth with little milk remaining.

Machine is getting finicky and I am considering the purchase of a new one. Not sure if I should continue along with this type of "super automatic" machine or consider buying a a different type. This machine grinds the beans, tamps and discards the plus with a separate wand for steaming, so I have little to no experience with semi automatics.

While I am mostly interested in espresso, I would like a machine with which I could produce good milk drinks as well. Would appreciate advice on current recommendations for a similar machine or opinion as to whether I would do better with a semi automatic machine and if so, which ones.

Thanks-

JBortz
 View Profile Contact via AOL Instant Messenger Link to this post