Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Looking for small footprint, inexpensive, moddable machine
Rocket R58 Double Boiler
Rocket Espresso R58 Double Boiler -  Everything you need for the perfect shot!
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Looking for...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
AwesomeO

Expertise: Just starting

Espresso: Gaggia Classic
Grinder: Preciso
Drip: V60
Posted Wed Nov 21, 2012, 4:45pm
Subject: Looking for small footprint, inexpensive, moddable machine

Hello all - I was hoping someone could help point me in the right direction. I'm not a newbie to coffee or espresso, but I am a newbie to making my own at home. I can say that I've studied enough to believe that I should have a pretty solid technique down by the time I get a machine for home use. At any rate, I'm looking for a machine to fit my requirements and restrictions. I've spent the better part of a week watching YouTube videos from Seattle Coffee Gear in attempt to narrow down my search. There are definitely a few I think I would like (Nuova Simonelli Oscar, Rancilio Silvia, Breville Infuser) and would probably buy, however none of them meet all of my requirements.

I need, in order of importance:
  1. Small footprint. Ideally about 8-11" wide and deep, and height anywhere under about 15".
  2. Traditional steam wand (no panarello), or moddable to have.

I would really like, in order of importance:
  1. Non-pressurized portafilter, preferably 58mm pro size.
  2. Somewhat inexpensive, or at least doesn't LOOK like I paid an arm and a leg for it.
  3. Hot water dispenser would be nice.