Espresso: Espresso Machines
Help! Problem with extraction - espresso
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Help! Problem...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 3 last page next page
Author Messages
pauster

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Tue Oct 23, 2012, 7:00am
Subject: Help! Problem with extraction - espresso

Hi Everyone,

I have been using a Gaggia Classic for about 7 years now and recently switched from latte to espresso. Then a lingering problem became much more pressing if you'll excuse the pun.

The extraction time is very variable - maybe one time out of 20, I get a nice slow extraction that takes 30-60 seconds and the espresso is great. But especially over the last year or so, the water almost always just sloshes through in 3-10 seconds for a small coffee cup volume and leaves me with a thin vile brew.

I have tried more or less espresso in the portafilter, less, more or a lot of tamping pressure, bought a conical burr grinder and use the finest or slightly more coarse settings, ordered mokka style ground espresso, all to no avail.

I am not sure where to look for other options other than buying a new machine. I bought fully automatic Jura S9 for the office which works great - but I kinda like the manual machine at home.

Help!

Patrick

MODERATOR moved to Espresso machine Forum
 View Profile Link to this post
calblacksmith
calblacksmith
Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: ECM Vene. A1, La Cimbali M32
Grinder: Azkoyen Capriccio, Major
Vac Pot: 40s era Silex
Drip: Msl. Com. brewers
Roaster: gave it a try, decided no
Posted Tue Oct 23, 2012, 7:19am
Subject: Re: Help! Problem with extraction - espresso