Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Rocket R58 vs. Cellini Evoluzione...?
Cafe Solutions
Commercial sales and service, nationwide installation, equipment leasing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Rocket R58 vs....  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 3 last page next page
Author Messages
djackcity

Expertise: I live coffee

Posted Mon Aug 13, 2012, 5:25pm
Subject: Rocket R58 vs. Cellini Evoluzione...?

I'm BRAND new to coffeegeek so please be gentile!

I have a brand new Mazzer Mini, Type A so now it's time to buy an espresso machine.  In my research I've grown to like the Rocket machines and I'm now focused on 2 specific models... The R58 (dual boiler) or the Cellini Evoluzione (heat exchanger).  I would love some advice!!

I am pretty skilled with espresso drinks and I'd like to buy a machine for home that keeps up.  My drinks are almost always milk-based (lattes, cappuccinos, etc.) and I make about 4 cups a day.

I understand that the R58 is a dual boiler and the Cellini is a heat exchanger.  Here is a summary of what I've read (I do not profess to be an expert on either machine).  So, I need some advice from people who know more than I do, and ideally from someone who has used either or both of these.  Here goes...

R58 pros:
- I like the idea that I can control temperature - not just consistency between shots but also varying / dialing in on different temps for specific coffees.  Does others feel this is important...?

R58 cons:
- I am reading mixed reviews complaining about strange noises from one of the pipes
- I've read about poor build quality specifically on the drip tray.