Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Advice/suggestions?  Best steam at home?  BDB? Oscar? Other?
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > ...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
epengr
epengr
Expertise: Just starting

Espresso: NS Oscar
Grinder: Baratza Vario
Posted Thu Apr 26, 2012, 9:01am
Subject: Advice/suggestions?  Best steam at home?  BDB? Oscar? Other?

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the world of serious espresso.  I've started to be able to pull reasonable shots form my Delonghi BAR32 that I've had for a few months (Which I just finishing upgrading with a $20 eBay PID/SSR).  

With a custom steam tip, I think I'm getting close to microfoam and I  can make an excellent espresso.  Only one shop in my relatively small city can do better. (Which says more about my city than it does about my skill).

Anyways...  The BAR32 is a great intro machine but it has me lusting after more.   I especially want to learn to poor latte art!

So, what would be the best choices for home machines (lets say sub-$2k for now) for excellent steaming?  I've had my eye on the BDB or an NS Oscar.  A rocket or other E61 is a possibility too.  Anything else I should consider?

If goes without says that I also want a machine that'll do a good espresso, but any of these will beat my BAR32, I'm sure.

Opinions?  Suggestions?  

Thanks!