Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Pressurized filter basket?
Great Espresso at Home
Curated selection of the best machines from La Spaziale, Izzo, Quick Mill, La Marzocco & more.
www.clivecoffee.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Pressurized...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
terrapin72

Expertise: Just starting

Espresso: DeLonghi EC155
Grinder: Baratza Maestro Plus
Vac Pot: None
Drip: Technivorm KBTS
Roaster: None
Posted Mon Dec 27, 2010, 4:13pm
Subject: Pressurized filter basket?

So I received a Delonghi EC155 for christmas from the Mrs.  Not my first choice, but hey, I am a noob, so I figured this might be a good way to get started at least.

I pulled a few shots for the first time this morning for a couple of latte's - they tasted decent, better than the Starbucks stuff for sure, but not quite as good as those sourced from my local coffeehouse.  As I pulled the shots, I saw an abundance of "crema" - and for some reason, it just seemed fake.  I took a look at the portafilter and the filter basket, and they looked different than most I have seen pictures of or in person before.  Here's what I found (I couldnt figure out how to embed pictures inline):

A picture of the PF and the basket:
Click Here (lh6.ggpht.com)

You can unscrew the little fitting with two pinholes from the bottom of the filter basket:

Click Here (lh5.ggpht.com)

Then the filter portion of the filter basket pops out and disassembles to this:

Click Here (lh4.ggpht.com)

I can take out the plastic bits and invert the filter fitting into the rubber gasket and it becomes this:

Click Here (lh4.ggpht.com)

Which looks like this from the bottom: