Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
Questions about learning curve
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > Questions about...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 5 last page next page
Author Messages
waingro

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun May 16, 2010, 11:19am
Subject: Questions about learning curve

Hello everybody,

I am new to the CoffeeGeek and amazed with the wealth of information on subject. Thank you!

I am about to buy my first espresso machine but have questions that I cannot solve on my own and could not find answers in the threads I read.  I hope I am posting in the right forum.

Initially, I was considering a super-automatic machine. I am ready to have just good shots but to have the convenience they offer.  But after long hours of reading over the Internet, I am looking at a semi-automatic one.  I want reliability; ease of maintenance & repair the semi-automatics offer.  I could not find a super-automatic one that would be as reliable as a good semi-automatic (steel & brass instead of plastic). If there is one below 2,5K, I would seriously consider it.

What I’d like to have with a semi-automatic is
- reliability as mentioned and
- as much ease of use as possible. A gentleman wrote in his review of Izzo Alex Duetto that he does not see his machine at home so easy it is to use. That’s exactly what I’d like to have!

My major concern is the learning curve. It is because of time. Time is something that is always not enough in my life.