Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
I want to make mediocre expresso
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > I want to make...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
boughtpassat
boughtpassat
Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Mon Oct 12, 2009, 8:18pm
Subject: I want to make mediocre expresso

First, I bought a $20 "espresso" machine purchased from wal-mart
Then I received a Breville Cafe Roma as a gift a year ago. I like it a lot and use it every day.

My brother thinks I'm an expert with this stuff. I'll be the first to admit, I'm not. Especially after researching these forums for the last week trying to figure out what machine to buy him, and now I see how important a good grinder is among so many other things.

His budget is $400. He might make espresso 3-5 times a week, if that. And he hopes that he can just buy his coffee from SB and have them grind it for him there. He has asked me to do the research for him... :)

This is why I titled my post as such. I think he would be okay with this option of having a machine with a PPF and not have to grind his own beans. I think he'd be happy with mediocre espresso because after all, he doesn't even want to do the research on this stuff himself and seems to like the drinks I make with my machine.

SOOO.......... Can someone please give me a couple of makes/models to send his way? I'll be sure to tell him about this forum, about the importance of a good grinder, PPFs, fresh coffee, etc. but I seem to think he isn't as much of a hobbyist nor would he become one.