Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
2001 Rio Single Group Help?
Home Espresso Machines
Watch videos with Gail & Kat, Rocket, Jura Capresso, Saeco, Rancilio, Quick Mill, Nespresso
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > 2001 Rio Single...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
singham

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2007, 3:18pm
Subject: 2001 Rio Single Group Help?

Well I've gone and made a mess for myself with this one.  I am an espresso newbie.  In a nutshell I traded a customer for a very nice condition Rio espresso machine about a year ago.  The unit has been sitting in my break room at work for the last year.  The problem is I went and offered my "Barista" services for a car show hospitality booth this weekend....I mean how difficult could it be, plug it in, put some beans in and press the button.  You can know see my problem, and I know realize that their is a huge coffee world out there that I have never even thought about.  Any suggestions that you could provide would be appreciated.  (Yes I already understand I'm an idiot to offer up services that I have no knowledge to deliver :)

I have tossed 30/40 shots down the drain so far.  I have proper boiler pressure, and pump pressure, however a double shot (2 oz's and 16G of coffee) is being dispensed in 4-6 seconds with no Crema.

I am using a Rancilio Rocky grinder, and I have tried multiple grinds.  I am tamping.  The beans were Starbucks (best Buy Nov. 3, purchased last night)  I will try beans from a local roaster tomorrow.

Any suggestions?  Anyone happen to have a manual for one of these machines?