Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Machines
In need of advice: Rancilio Rocky or Rocky SD?
Quality Espresso Machines
Imported Italian Espresso Machines, Coffee Machines & accessories for all your coffee needs!
www.thecoffeebrewers.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Machines > In need of...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 3 last page next page
Author Messages
HaEs

Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Miss Silvia
Grinder: Rocky DL
Drip: Braun
Posted Fri Jul 29, 2005, 12:26pm
Subject: In need of advice: Rancilio Rocky or Rocky SD?

Hello fellow geeks,

I'm new in the astonishing world of piston machines, grinders and beans...
After reading many reviews I decided to order a Rancilio Silvia together with a Rocky grinder. I first wanted to buy a Solis Maestro Plus grinder, but after having seen it in a shop, I didn't like the 'cheap' plastic look of it. So I decided for a Rocky.
My question is, there are two types of Rocky's: just 'Rocky' and the 'Rocky SD' which lacks the container for the grind. What exactly are the differences between the normal and the SD version? Which one is preferable (and why)?

Any thoughts appreciated.

HaEs: Rocky.jpg

HaEs
 View Profile Link to this post
GeorgeA
GeorgeA
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Izzo Alex Duetto II
Grinder: Mazzer Mini E Doserless
Vac Pot: Hario Deco; Cory
Drip: Melior French Press;...
Roaster: Not just yet, but leaning
Posted Fri Jul 29, 2005, 1:10pm
Subject: Re: In need of advice: Rancilio Rocky or Rocky SD?