Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Mods and Restorations
Complete newb about to rehab a Nuova Simonelli Mac 2000V
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Espresso Mods > Complete newb...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
ytsemaddy

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013, 1:33pm
Subject: Complete newb about to rehab a Nuova Simonelli Mac 2000V

Hi folks,

New to the forum, new to espresso. My husband does home roasting and we're thinking about starting a business eventually, so we managed to pick up a NS Mac 2000 V from a restaurant that was closing for a (hopefully) great price. From what I can tell, the machine was not regularly serviced, as I asked if they had a recommended service person, and they said "No, we've never had any trouble with it." I suspect they made < 20 shots a week.

That said, I'm not even hooking it up until I've done a cursory cleaning and check. I'm ordering Cafiza, Dezcal, a brush tool, and a blind filter insert; and I'm also going to order a full set of new gaskets and o-rings. It went straight from the restaurant to my garage, so I have no concerns that it's been in freezing conditions that would cause any burst lines / boilers. It also came with a separate softener tank, which I have yet to be able to pry open, but once I can I'll be on the hunt for the proper salt to repack it with.