Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Mods and Restorations
Used V2 Silvia Issues
Great Espresso at Home
Curated selection of the best machines from La Spaziale, Izzo, Quick Mill, La Marzocco & more.
www.clivecoffee.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Espresso Mods > Used V2 Silvia...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
RangerRick9211

Expertise: I like coffee

Posted Mon Mar 4, 2013, 6:49am
Subject: Used V2 Silvia Issues

I am attempting to confirm my suspicions given that I am not a machine expert. Last week I purchased my first machine on Ebay. A used Silvia V2 manufactured in 2007. The machine was described as "Excellent Condition", "Fully Functional", and "Lightly Used". I have been in contact with the seller from the point of my initial bid. Apparently the machine was used for a few days, packed, and stored for the past 4 years. Prior to her posting it last week, she did pull it out and ran a few shots to confirm that it was working. One other important bit of information, she is in Washington and I in Texas. There was also a two day shipping delay in Colorado due to snow.

The machine arrived double boxed and packaged well. The outerbox was a standard UPS box with no signs of damage. The interior box was the original Rancillio Silvia box and was soaked through the bottom. Upon removing the machine from the box, approx. a cup of water was drained from the interior of the machine. Initially, I thought she had left water in the reservoir and it had splashed around in transit. I immediately documented with photos and emailed the seller. She informed me that that the reservoir was emptied prior to shipping.