Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Espresso Mods and Restorations
ECM Botticelli, fixing and pimping... one question
Italian Biscotti Cookies
Premium artisan quality Italian Biscotti cookies. Many flavors!
www.espressozone.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Espresso Mods > ECM Botticelli,...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
coffeefromhell

Expertise: I live coffee

Posted Tue Jun 26, 2012, 3:09pm
Subject: ECM Botticelli, fixing and pimping... one question

Hey folks,

I'm a machinist by trade & passion and a coffee lover...

my machine history includes old olympia, dalla corte and a few others but recently got an old ECM Botticelli from a friend of mine...

The ECM was a bit in a sorry state - especially the electronics board (it's the model which features a thermostat-controller... the thing worked by measuring the temp with a NTC Sensor and a couple of ICs, SMD stuff,  and a few relays, and other components...)
the board however was fried - and I tried to change the usual suspects (transformator, capacitors, relays,...) to no avail.
Now as a lot of the small SMD components (it's a multi-layer board) aren't even labelled and I had no intention to start un-soldering those tiny things I scapped the whole electric control-board and replaced it by a normal thermostat and 230V switches.

Also I have a PID controller on order (should arrive tomorrow or the day after) and want to make it quite precise.