Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Lever Espresso Machines
La Pavoni Europiccola 8-Troubleshooting Help/Advice
Home Espresso Machines
Watch videos with Gail & Kat, Rocket, Jura Capresso, Saeco, Rancilio, Quick Mill, Nespresso
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Lever Espresso > La Pavoni...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
charliereid

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Sat Jan 25, 2014, 11:24am
Subject: La Pavoni Europiccola 8-Troubleshooting Help/Advice

Hi all,

I'm new to the espresso world and i just purchased a La Pavoni EPC 8 (i know i know, it's a little advanced for a beginner, but i'm willing to suffer). After the past few days of tinkering and reading the forum, i figured i'd ask for some advice on troubleshooting. My problem has been that i cannot produce decent crema. It just comes out of the thing like strong coffee.

Some issues i might be having:

1) I have a Baratza Maestro Plus Burr Grinder. After tinkering with the grind settings i finally settled on the finest grind setting that this grinder would do and it still comes through the portafilter too fast with little to no crema. My hunch is that maybe this grinder just doesn't grind fine enough. I don't have the money for a new grinder at the moment after dropping some coin on the la pavoni, but i've heard that a good hand grinder can work in the meantime (i.e.-Porlex).