Espresso: Lever Espresso Machines
Temp Surf
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Lever Espresso > Temp Surf  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Orpheo

Expertise: Just starting

Espresso: Krups Gusto
Posted Wed Sep 26, 2012, 8:49am
Subject: Temp Surf

I'm a novice considering eBay purchase of a used/clean LP Euro.  Drawn to this forum by my curiosity re how useful adding a pressure gauge to imagined LP Euro might be.  I noticed a response posted Sept. 12th by veteran member "uyeasound" to the same question and need clarification on a couple of terms used in the post.   What is meant in this instance by 'temp surfing'?  Also mentioned, 'watching group thermometer'.  Does that refer to checking each shot with a hand held thermometer as it's being pulled?  Glad to be in a position to draw on experts.   Thanks ever so much.......  I'll take my responses off the air,   Bill
 View Profile Link to this post
NobbyR
NobbyR
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Poccino Opus One, Ariete
Grinder: Eureka Mignon Istantaneo
Vac Pot: N/A
Drip: Melitta Linea Unica de Luxe
Roaster: N/A
Posted Wed Sep 26, 2012, 10:04pm
Subject: Re: Temp Surf

Temp(erature) surfing refers to a way of pulling shots at a more or less consistent brewing temperature with a SBDU machine, and not to hand lever machines like the La Pavoni, even though it also has but one boiler. The water temperature inside the boiler of a (non-PIDed) SBDU can vary by several degrees during its heating cycle. In order to brew your espresso with approximately the same temperature each time, you start extraction at the same time of that cycle.