Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Is there a smaller grinder we'd be happy with? Have a Laranzato HC-600
Donate to Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids works with farming communities around the world, improving lives. Donate today.
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Is there a...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
cprice88

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Tue Dec 17, 2013, 9:44am
Subject: Is there a smaller grinder we'd be happy with? Have a Laranzato HC-600

For the past 6 years we've had a Laranzato HC-600 (I gather this is a commercial grinder comparable to a Super Jolly, but I am by no means an expert on grinders). We have been totally pleased with the performance of it and it has been maintenance free. Also, I got a great deal on it originally b/c it was a floor sample.

However, we moved recently and it does not fit well anymore in our kitchen. I already switched the hopper for a stainless canning funnel b/c there was no other way to get it to fit under our cabinets. The canning funnel is kinda messy; beans pop out all the time when grinding.

Now I'm debating whether to get a shorter/smaller grinder or if I should actually remove an upper cabinet to fit the espresso setup.

Is there anything smaller that would compare in quality?

We also have a plumbed-in Astra Gourmet (which does barely fit under the cabinets). They have made a nice pair thus far. Astra has been to the shop twice, but both times less than $100 repairs and we bought it used.

On a related note, do I ever need to replace the burrs on this grinder? All I've done so far is clean them a few times (with the minute rice method).
 View Profile Link to this post