Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Need Advice - Upgrade a Virtuoso, buy a Preciso, buy a Vario
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Need Advice -...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
beer_guzzler

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Wed Oct 16, 2013, 7:38pm
Subject: Need Advice - Upgrade a Virtuoso, buy a Preciso, buy a Vario

Hey guys,

I need suggestions. I currently own a Baratza Virtuoso that I have been using for about 5 years. When I first got it worked great but has recently started to suffer. My espresso pours are now streams and I am lucky to get to 20 seconds on my Gaggia Classic. I was going to simply order new burrs ($3 plus ungodly S&H) but discovered they have an upgrade kit to add Preciso burrs and gear for $65. I make a triple shot using a bottomless triple basket every day with an occasional foray into French Presses. I also like siphons and may buy one as an additional alternative.

Should I spend the $65+S&H on the upgrade? Or should I just buy a new grinder and keep my existing Virtuoso for non-espresso?

If buying a new grinder, where is the sweet spot in the $300 range?

I notice refurb Varios for $360, refurb Precisos for $239, or a new Gaggia MDF for $200.