Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Need help with Baratza Virtuoso
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Need help with...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
atytse

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Tue Nov 5, 2013, 8:13am
Subject: Need help with Baratza Virtuoso

Hi friends, I'm quite new to the coffee community only recently having fallen in love with trying to make a perfect espresso shot.  I own an Oscar Nuova Simonelli and Baratza Virtuoso.

My current question is with regard to the grind size with my espresso beans.  I'm seeing nice extraction out of Oscar Nuova (long thin tail) but I'm tasting bitter coffee. The current setting at my Virtuoso is 2 which seems too low. Yet if I try to increase it, I feel like the coffee will be under extracted (since the water flow is really quick).

Any tips or advice? I've read elsewhere that folks set their Virtuoso to setting 11 for espresso grinding which is really different than my current setting. Thanks much.
 View Profile Link to this post
NobbyR
NobbyR
Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Poccino Opus One, Ariete
Grinder: Eureka Mignon Istantaneo
Vac Pot: N/A
Drip: Melitta Linea Unica de Luxe
Roaster: N/A
Posted Tue Nov 5, 2013, 8:27am
Subject: Re: Need help with Baratza Virtuoso

Welcome to CoffeeGeek!

I'm afraid the steps of the Baratza Virtuoso are too few and too wide for dialing in correctly, so that the right setting is somewhere in between two steps. It's just not the right grinder for that particular use.