Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Best Espresso Grinder for a Beginner
Espresso Makers
Premium stovetop espresso makers, electric moka pots, machines & accessories.
www.espressozone.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Best Espresso...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
jgaepi

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Tue Jun 4, 2013, 9:30am
Subject: Best Espresso Grinder for a Beginner

I am new to this site and new to hands on espresso. My background is that my wife and I lived in Sicily for 3 years and got the cappuccino bug. We bought a Delonghi Magnifica when we got back for an easy solution - but it never tasted right. For regular coffee, we use a small technovorm and the Breville smart grinder.

We are in the process of moving up. We have a La Spaziale mini vivaldi on order. Clive Coffee tells me I can use the Breville for both espresso and drip but I like things simple (I don't want to keep changing the settings) and would be willing to spend $$$ on a standalone grinder.

I would like to buy a future proof espresso grinder but one that will have an easy learning curve for a beginner. I wouldn't be opposed to buying a Mahlkonig if the consensus says that it will be worth it long term.

I roast my own beans and occasionally do a french roast with a little oil sheen. Typically though, I roast at city/city+.

I don't want any regrets with the grinder and I don't want to have to constantly do maintenance. I want a best of all worlds grinder that will be future proof and allow me to easily learn on it.

Any suggestions for me? Thanks.
 View Profile Link to this post
MatP

Expertise: I like coffee