Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Grinder for Aeropress Coffee / "Espresso"
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Grinder for...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
FluxCapacitor

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Mon Sep 24, 2012, 2:22pm
Subject: Grinder for Aeropress Coffee / "Espresso"

I'm just getting into coffee and my drink of choice is a latte, although I haven't tried much else. I'd like to get into home brewing to reduce my "latte factor". I'm definitely not about to drop hundreds of dollars on an espresso machine, so I thought I would start off with an Aeropress. So, with that in mind, I have some questions about grinders for Aeropress and Aeropress coffee in general.

Let's say for now, that my goal is to produce an acceptable latte with an Aeropress. (I understand that an Aeropress will not produce "real espresso").

1) Should use espresso roasted beans versus regular coffee beans? I have read that you can make espresso with any type of beans... Is there a certain type that would work better with an Aeropress?

2) From what I've read, you could use a range of grinds for aeropress, but usually coarser than a real espresso grind. Thus, if I am not concerned with producing such a fine grind, can I get away with a lower quality burr grinder?

3) Are espresso roasted beans harder on grinders than regular roasted coffee beans?

With the above in mind, depending on answers to those questions, I was considering these models (note, I definitely want to stay under $200 CAD):

-Baratza Encore
-KitchenAid Pro Line