Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Your thoughts on a portable electric burr grinder?
Learn @seattlecoffeegear
Learn all about coffee, watch videos, read how-to articles.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Your thoughts on...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
cybrown

Expertise: I like coffee

Posted Mon Sep 24, 2012, 11:39am
Subject: Your thoughts on a portable electric burr grinder?

I'm an engineer and a coffeegeek, and I've been repeatedly frustrated by the lack of true portable burr grinders. I went to the beach a few years ago after building up an extreme coffee addiction, and of course I had to bring a small chemex, aeropress, and grinder with me. I bought a JavaGrind hand-crank burr grinder for the task, but in my experience it's pretty terrible. It's extremely hard to crank, and also hard to hold. It's difficult to stabilize and I almost immediately put it away and went back to an electric blade grinder for my vacation coffee.  I'm told the Hario manual burr grinder is better, but haven't tried it yet.

I'm interested in small niche hardware companies, and I'm wondering whether the coffee community has any interest in an electric portable burr grinder. I'm thinking something similar in size and shape to the ubiquitous spice/coffee blade grinder, but as a burr grinder instead. My simple question to you is, would you buy this? If there's enough interest I will put together a prototype and start a kickstarter campaign to build a better burr grinder.
 View Profile Link to this post
DavidG
DavidG

Espresso: cimbali M32 | pavoni pub1
Grinder: preciso | kyocera cm45 |...
Vac Pot: sunbeam c30c | yama +...