Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Grinding help in plain English....
Cafe Solutions
Commercial sales and service, nationwide installation, equipment leasing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Grinding help in...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
AlexEssex

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2012, 5:59am
Subject: Grinding help in plain English....

Hi All.

I am a coffee newbie whom owns a rather useless domestic DeLonghi Espresso Machine, but intends to update this in August. However, I have just bought an Ascaso I-mini grinder that I am very happy and pleased with and I glad that I am now on the path to decent coffee. However, as a newbie I have a few questions and thoughts that I would like to share with you so that you can tell me just how wrong I am and correct me. Here are my thoughts.

I assume the the courser the grind, the weaker the espresso, and the easier the espresso is to pour through the porterfilter, there is also reduced crema.

The finer the grinder, the slower it pours through the porterfilter due to more pressure, but a more intense and consistent espresso shot with good crema.

Its finding the mix between course and fine to produce a shot or double shot of espresso at either 7g or 14g. A 7g shot should produce a shot (or 1oz) of espresso with good crema.