Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: Grinders - Espresso
Multi-purpose grinder for Gaggia Classic?
Rancilio Silvia - How to
Step by step guide for easy brewing and steaming with the Rancilio Silvia
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > Grinders -... > Multi-purpose...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
espressowell

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Fri Jun 29, 2012, 2:21am
Subject: Multi-purpose grinder for Gaggia Classic?

Hello

I am new to coffee and have been lurking around for a couple of weeks on the site reading reviews, articles and forums.

I think I am fairly set on buying a Gaggia Classic within the next month.  However, whilst I will get good use from the machine once I have learned to make espresso and hopefully latte, I think I will still be using the stove top / french press for plain coffee about half the time.

I was quite impressed by the article on Coffee Geek about the Baratza Virtuoso Precisio and it seems to be what I am looking for.  However in the UK the cheapest I can find it for is about 310 and I'm wondering if it would be a bit daft to be spending 200 on a machine and 300 on a grinder. Space is also a bit premium so two grinders are out of the question (I imagine the budget as well).

So coming to the point, is there anything similar to the Precisio that is  cheaper but as easy to use changing between grinding requirements for different coffees? I can't find anything on reviews, on all the reviews and forum discussion I have seen it seems to be problematic, or time consuming at least to change between requirements.