Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: General Discussion
Getting started with coffee
Rocket R58 Double Boiler
Rocket Espresso R58 Double Boiler -  Everything you need for the perfect shot!
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > General > Getting started...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
BWR

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Thu Jan 3, 2013, 1:09pm
Subject: Getting started with coffee

Hi Everyone

I'm just getting started in the world of coffee, or rather, I'm just getting started in caring about the quality of coffee I drink. My question is this: What would you recommend as the first steps to some one looking to increase their appreciation and understanding of coffee (and espresso in particular)? Or to put it another way, is there one thing you wish you'd known when you started out on the coffee geek road?

I'm not talking about espresso preparation methods or techniques in particular (although any responses along these lines would be appreciated), but more general coffee/espresso appreciation. For example, do you think a newbie such as myself would benefit from attending a coffee cupping event? I suspect that the general answer is simply to go and try as much espresso as possible in as many places as possible, which isn't exactly an unpleasant answer to receive to any question, but any other thoughts/suggestions would be most welcome.

I hope I'm not sounding too vague and my apologies if this has been answered in another thread, I have looked through the forums and I suspect that the vague nature of my question makes such searching difficult.

Thanks in advance,
Bruce
 View Profile Link to this post