Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: General Discussion
A shot with my Duetto and new Vario
Commercial Equipment
Nuova Simonelli, La Marzocco, Rancilio. Nationwide installation. Instant financing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > General > A shot with my...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
jjsaustin

Espresso: Izzo Alex Duetto
Grinder: Baratza Vario
Posted Mon Dec 24, 2012, 9:14am
Subject: A shot with my Duetto and new Vario

I recently purchased a Duetto from CG member and picked up a new Vario.

I am new to all of this, but very happy with the results so far. Below is a simple video made using my phone. The lighting was a bit harsh due to the flash on the phone and washed out the striping in the pull, so I took apic of the result from the top (see below). I probably could have stopped the shot a second or two sooner, but the result tasted great. I'm learning a lot from the forum and the previous owner.

This is with Counter Culture Toscana beans.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNChDxMO9Hs

I have a scale on order so I can start to measure my dose. I see on this particular shot there was some dancing at the beginning (which I assume is not good?). Any comments on adjusting the grind / tamp / etc.?

jjsaustin: My Shot Top.jpg
(Click for larger image)
 View Profile Link to this post
jwoodyu
jwoodyu
Expertise: I live coffee

Espresso: Allex Duetto II
Grinder: Mazzer Major
Posted Mon Dec 24, 2012, 10:30am
Subject: Re: A shot with my Duetto and new Vario