Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Espresso: General Discussion
1st post and some questions
Support Coffee Kids
Coffee Kids is a non profit charity working with farming communities around the world. Donate today!
www.coffeekids.org

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Espresso > General > 1st post and...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
Allnighter

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Thu May 3, 2012, 1:38am
Subject: 1st post and some questions

Hi everyone!

Since this is my first post here, I'll briefly introduce myself. I'm a twenty-something male living in the Netherlands. I study at a well known university in the Netherlands, where I'm currently majoring in physics. As you may have guessed, college is what got me into coffee in the first place. My parents were never big coffee drinkers (just a morning kick-starter), so I never got the habit from home. This all changed when I moved half-way across the country to attend the university, where i started enjoying lots of coffee, and learnt the meaning of the word ''all nighter'.
I used to drink coffee from a Philips Senseo machine (i'm not sure how well-known they are outside the Netherlands/Europe, the machines are however incredibly popular here). It's a incredibly easy to use machine that brews coffee from pods, available at every supermarket, in a great variety of blends and brands. While the machine is easy and fast, it produces lousy coffee, using a mere 1.5 bar to push our beloved black liquid into your cup.
After reading CoffeeGeek for a while i decided to get rid of my useless coffee pod machine, and start learning about real good home espresso.