Coffee: Questions and Answers
What am I missing here?
Stefano's Espresso Care
Repair - Parts - Sales
Factory Authorized &
Trained Technician
www.espressocare.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > What am I...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
showing page 1 of 2 last page next page
Author Messages
JDub

Expertise: I love coffee

Posted Fri Mar 28, 2014, 10:43pm
Subject: What am I missing here?

I have been drinking coff like an average person for 20+ years.  A drip coffe maker and pre ground coffe.  I usually drink a 12 cup pot or more a day and I rarley go to coffee shops because the coffee is too weak for my taste.  For example if I go to starbucks I have to add 2 shots of espresso to a house coffee to make it drinkable for me.  I always drink my coffee black.

I decided to get a cheap grinder and try grinding my own beans (if this worked out I would buy a better grinder) because I have always read that it makes for a stronger and more flavorful cup.  I have found the exact opsite to be true.  I have wasted about 15oz of beans today trying to make a cup of coffee that I can stand to drink more then one cup of.  So far it seams that I can't get the coffee to be any stronger no matter how much I add.  Its like I hit a flavor wall.  I can't get any more out of it.  I have ttried several different sizes of grinds.

Normally I would add 4.5 scoops of Folgers Black Silk to a 12 cup pot and thats what I like.  I'm up to 8 scoops of fresh ground and now grounds are overflowing the filter and ending up in my pot and it still tastes like weak tea.