Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
French press tips
Commercial Equipment
Nuova Simonelli, La Marzocco, Rancilio. Nationwide installation. Instant financing options.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > French press...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Westin_Larson

Expertise: I love coffee

Espresso: Gaggia Classic
Grinder: Breville BCG800XL Smart...
Drip: Cuisinart DCC-2650 Brew...
Posted Tue Mar 4, 2014, 3:11pm
Subject: French press tips

Hello:

I've just recently bought a Bodum French Press.  I was wondering, as I am new to this french press technique, if there were any great pointers that anyone may have.  Are there any precautions that I should take?  (i.e. watching temperatures before pouring water into glass canister).  Are there better ways to brew the coffee with the french press (longer times, coarser grinds etc.).  

Thanks!
 View Profile Link to this post
Goldensncoffee
Goldensncoffee

Grinder: Breville Smart, Skerton
Posted Wed Mar 5, 2014, 5:05am
Subject: Re: French press tips

Westin-

I think your off to a great start with the grinder you have. I have a Breville Smart and have been making some coffee that has been wowing me. There are many techniques to using the FP. This is what works for me (makes about 2 mugs of coffee): Weigh empty container and zero scale. Grind 34g coffee. Preheat FP by pouring some boiling water into it. empty. Put grinds into FP and set on scale to zero. Add enough water to saturate grinds (steep 30 secs). Add water to 580g (total). Give a gentile stir and put the top on so that the plunger screen is just sitting below the water line. Steep for 4 mins

enjoy
canuckcoffeeguy