Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
Help picking out a grinder.
Cafe Espresso Machines
Video reviews, nationwide installation, leasing options... Nuova Simonelli, Rancilio, La Marzocco.
www.seattlecoffeegear.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > Help picking out...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
Atd285

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Wed Feb 5, 2014, 10:01am
Subject: Help picking out a grinder.

Hi Everyone!
I'm new here @ CoffeeGeek, but I'm already loving the site/forums for the great discussions going on around here. I think it's so cool the Aeropress inventor posts here, It's become my absolute favorite brewing device!  I'm still somewhat new to home brewing, but I'm getting a little better each day.  Currently, i'm hunting for electric grinder, since I've been using a hand grinder for a while now and feel that I could use an upgrade.  I'm sorry I didn't post this in the "Espresso-Grinders" section, but I'm not really doing espresso right now and thought this section might be more appropriate.  I was kind of overwhelmed by the vast options there are for grinders these days, but I think I've narrowed my decision down to a Baratza Virtuoso.  I had been planning on buying it refurbished from Baratza's website since many people seem to have had good success doing that.  I went to check out Baratza's refurb section this morning and came across this, https://www.baratza.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=586R  Would this be a better option for me? I'm only doing simple manual brewing at the moment(v60, Aeropress, French Press) and just wanted to make sure that the grinder I selected wouldn't be overkill for what I'm doing.  Thanks so m