Our Valued Sponsor
OpinionsConsumer ReviewsGuides and How TosCoffeeGeek ReviewsResourcesForums
Coffee: Questions and Answers
Small ways to improve coffee?
Saeco Espresso Machines
Large selection in-stock, includes Free Gifts and Free Shipping!
www.espressozone.com

Not Logged in: Log In to Postlog in
New Topics updated topics   New Posts new posts   Unanswered Posts new unanswered  
Search Discussion Board search   Discussion Board FAQ faq   Signup sign up  
Discussions > Coffee > Q and A > Small ways to...  
view previous topic | view next topic | view all topics
Author Messages
squelchy451

Expertise: Just starting

Posted Wed Jun 12, 2013, 11:37am
Subject: Small ways to improve coffee?

Hi. I started drinking coffee just for the caffeine, but now I want to drink it for the taste too.
Unfortunately, I'm a student so money is low. My current setup is a Chemex, a cheap Cuisinart blade grinder, and some beans from Trader Joe's. I used to get pre-ground ones or use the grinder at the grocery store, but I found that grinding the beans as I need creates a better cup of coffee.

I know grocery store coffee beans are not guaranteed to be fresh, and I think buying fresh beans is probably the cheapest way I can improve my coffee experience. If I had more money, I'd definitely get a burr grinder and perhaps a different brewing apparatus. I live in Los Angeles, so I'd really like to know where's a good place to buy fresh beans without breaking the bank. I'm new to this, so I probably won't know much difference between very high-quality beans and medium-high ones.

Also, from what I read Chemex removes some of the oils from coffee, leaving it less bitter. However, I think that that would reduce some of the more subtle flavors of coffee. What would be a different brewing method that doesn't require a lot of equipment and allows me to get all the flavors of a particular roast?

Thanks!
 View Profile Link to this post
calblacksmith
calblacksmith
Expertise: I live coffee